HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique and growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. You can use this online electronic resource from the convenience of your home or at the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library.

HeritageQuest Online from a Library computer
HeritageQuest Online remotely

This is a growing collection which at this time includes:
Genealogy & Local History Collection of over 24,000+ book titles, including family histories, local histories and primary source documents such as tax lists, city directories, church and probate records, and more.

U.S. Federal Census has original images from 1790-1930, and many head-of-household name indexes are available. In addition, the census records can be searched by place of birth, age, ethnicity, and other variables.

Periodical Source Index (PERSI), a comprehensive subject index covering more than 6,600 genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. Search surnames, locations, and methodologies as well as the ability to browse the journals by title and keyword. PERSI is produced in cooperation with the Allen County Public Library Foundation.

The Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files contains some genealogical and historical information from an estimated 80,000 pension and bounty-land-warrant application files.

The Freedman’s Bank records (1865-1874) is considered one of the most important resources for African-American genealogical research. At the close of the Civil War, the Freedman’s Savings & Trust Company was the primary bank for America’s freed slaves and others from 1865-1874. You can search registers of signatures of bank depositors, dependants, and heirs.

The U.S. Serial Set contains House and Senate documents, such as Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions from 1789-1969.

Audience Adult
Mobile App Available? No